Ravichandran Ashwin surpasses South African legend Dale Steyn in the exclusive list | Cricket News


Ravichandran celebrates after taking a wicket in the BCCI match against Sri Lanka.

Ravichandran Ashwin of India surpassed Dale Steyn to move into eighth place on the all-time list of top wicket-takers in Test cricket, less than ten days after surpassing Kapil Dev’s total. When Ashwin removed Dhananjaya de Silva in the morning session of the India versus Sri Lanka second Test match at Chinnaswamy stadium in Bengaluru on Day 3, he went beyond Steyn. The Sri Lankan all-rounder became Ashwin’s 440th Test victim, surpassing Steyn’s 439. In the day-night Test, Ashwin had 440 wickets in 162 innings during the Tea break on Monday, while Steyn had 439 wickets in 171 innings.

The great Sri Lankan off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, the only cricketer to capture 800 Test wickets, leads the elite list. Shane Warne, an Australian great who finished with 709 Test wickets, comes in second.

De Silva’s bat caught the inside edge of Ashwin’s turn and went at it with hard ends. It was a textbook bat-pad dismissal, which is extremely typical against Ashwin in these conditions.

With the sun hammering down on a ground that has aided the spinners from the start, the visitors’ job of surviving against Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja’s deception was a difficult one.

Nonetheless, both Mendis (54 off 60 balls) and Karunaratne utilised their feet with confidence to counter the Indian spinners, adopting a positive attitude.

Mendis was superb on both the front and back foot, pulling and cutting the short-pitched stuff and reducing the spin with his feet.

Karunaratne and Mendis both charged down the wicket with a similar strategy, although Mendis was more animated. Later on, the skipper batted with a lot more assurance.

Mendis reached fifty with a single off Jadeja, but was bowled by Rishabh Pant after being beaten by flight on an Ashwin ball.

Their valiant 96-run second-wicket partnership came to an end as a result of this. Angelo Mathews (1) was bowled by Jadeja, while Dhananjaya de Silva (4) was caught at forward short-leg by Ashwin.

Post By РManbir Singh 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.